Software engineering marathon - from hobbyist programmer to a full-time software engineer in 100 days!

Software engineering marathon - from hobbyist programmer to a full-time software engineer in 100 days!

#100DaysOfCode

I have always struggled with work! Not that I am lazy, but because I have always felt hugely uninspired by the roles I have held in the recent past. I always felt mechanical in those roles.

Why did I take up jobs that I knew wouldn't give me the satisfaction I desired? For survival! As a young adult, I needed to be able to cater to my bills and support my dependents. I was ready to take up whatever came along as long as it had a paycheque attached to it at the end of the month.

All along, for almost 5 years, I was tinkering with code on the side. I learned HTML5 and CSS3 on freecodecamp. I then learned PHP and began making WordPress websites. But I somehow felt unfulfilled with WordPress because of having to always get a plugin to add some extra functionality to a website.

I am now challenging myself to upskill in Python and Django to a point where I am hirable as a full-time software engineer. I will document my journey by posting once or twice a week here on hashnode and daily on Twitter. The clock's ticking! I have until the end of Q1-2022.

I have Eliud Kipchoge's image up there because he is an iconic runner and perhaps the most disciplined person I know of, in terms of practicing/exercising. I perceive this journey as a marathon that needs, above all else, discipline and dedication to get better each day. Who better to look up to for motivation!

Today is #Day1 and I took a re-introduction to python by following Amigoscode Python tutorial on Youtube. I have built an app that takes user input from the terminal and generates a CV in .docx format. The code is available on my Github here.

The plan is to take a project-based approach, where I will build a handful of fully functional and properly architectured Django apps.

I am here to encourage someone that it is possible to make a career switch at 30 and start living the life you have always desired.

Follow me on Twitter for daily updates on this journey.